2018 Scholarship Recipients Announced

United Power proudly announces the 2018 Scholarship awards. Sixteen different scholarships are granted for a total of $18,500. United Power awards the scholarships each year to outstanding students served by the cooperative. The United Power Scholarship Committee gives these awards based on grades, test scores, extracurricular participation and a short essay. Applications are made available at the end of each year. Visit www.unitedpower.com for more information.

Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarship – $1,000 Award
Jacqueline Chavez Sandoval
Weld Central High School’s senior class president has built a stellar academic resume as she heads to CU Denver in the fall. Jacqueline is vice president of the National Honor Society, a member of the National Society of High School Scholars, participates in drama club, band and dance and serves regularly at her local food bank. She plans to pursue a medical degree in pediatrics to help children in a field she loves.
Tri-State Generation & Transmission Scholarship – $1,000 Award
Sydney Bowman
Sydney, a senior at Brighton High School, has a strong academic record and a background in agriculture, and hopes to use that experience as she pursues a Ph.D. in ruminant nutrition. She has run her own cattle company since 2010, and her accolades include: Adams County Junior Livestock Superintendent, Brighton FFA Chapter Executive Committee Chair and Adams County 4-H Member’s Council President, among many others.
Lois Lesser Education Scholarship – $1,000 Award
Fabienne Kelm
Eagle Ridge Academy senior Fabienne Kelm has a passion for teaching, and will major in secondary education at Metro State University in the fall. Fabienne is treasurer of the Interact Club, which develops leadership skills while discovering the power of “Service Above Self,” a member of the National Honor Society, and has been active with the school’s student council and drama club.
Bill Berens Memorial Scholarship – $1,000 Award
Brock Gagna
Brock Gagna, also a senior at Brighton High School, has big dreams, beginning with his pursuit of a mechanical engineering degree from the Colorado School of Mines. As class valedictorian and National Honor Society president, Brock has a variety of academic honors on his resume, but also spends his time giving back to the community through tutoring elementary students and volunteering at the Food Bank of the Rockies.
United Power Youth Leadership Scholarship – $1,500 Award
Abigail Alvarez 
Abigail has taken proactive steps toward reaching her goal of becoming a lawyer by age 22 since she was a freshman at Eagle Ridge Academy. In the fall, she’ll take the next step at CU Denver, armed with her high school diploma and an associate degree in criminal justice. Over the past four years, she’s been actively involved with the Adams County and Brighton Teen Courts and her church while earning a variety of academic honors.
United Power Colorado College Scholarship – $2,000 Award
Anna Estrada
Anna will graduate from both Weld Central High School and Aims Community College (as a state certified nursing assistant) in May before enrolling at CU Denver in the fall. She plans to pursue a degree in biology before continuing her education to become a physician assistant. While at Weld Central High School, Anna has been actively involved with the National Honor Society and lettered in concert band.
United Power Colorado College Scholarship – $2,000 Award
Emily Fitzjohn
High school has been a busy experience for Erie senior Emily Fitzjohn, who has participated in a variety of school clubs and organizations while staying active in and around her community. Her involvement includes National Honor Society, student council, drama club, Teens-with-Wings and the Longmont Humane Society. In the fall, Emily will attend Colorado State University in hopes of becoming a wildlife biologist.
United Power Book Awards – $1,000 Scholarships
Brighton High School:
Josie Pomrenke
Josie Pomrenke is team captain for Brighton’s swim team and enjoys serving in her community. In the fall, she will attend the University of Wyoming and pursue a career in medicine. She views it as her way of giving back to small, rural communities.


Prairie View High School:
Rose Mendoza
Rose Mendoza is set to pursue a career in the demanding field of nuclear engineering, and will begin her path toward that goal at Oregon State University in the fall. Rose has been a part of the Technology Student Association, National Honor Society and the STARS mentor program.


Eagle Ridge Academy:
Madison Mellin
Senior class president Madison Mellin has been actively involved in her school, participating in National Honor Society, student council, dance and drama. She will continue her education at Colorado State University, majoring in either journalism or business, with a minor in dance.


Frederick High School:
Erica Kolanowski 
Erica Kolanowski has a passion for the arts, and plans to major in art animation and graphic design at either CU Denver or Pomona College. A decorated visual artist, Erica hopes to one day join DreamWorks or Pixar Animation Studios and become and advocate for the arts.


Ft. Lupton High School:
Yeilin Benitez
Yeilin Benitez plans to pursue a biomedical engineering degree at Colorado State University in the fall, and hopes to contribute to the advancement or improvement of medicine. Yeilin has participated in the Upward Bound, National Honor Society and Spanish Club, among other activities.


Mead High School:
Derek Edwards
Derek Edwards hopes to mirror his desired major in petroleum engineering with a university that provides an opportunity to succeed athletically at the next level. He was a 2017 First-Team All-State selection in football and earned Academic All-State honors five times.


Weld Central High School:
Silvia Sanchez
Silvia Sanchez plans to continue her education at CU Denver, pursuing a career in pediatrics. At graduation, she’ll have earned an associate degree and nurse aid certification. Silvia volunteers at Platte Valley Hospital, church, and serves on student council and National Honor Society.


At-Large Book Scholarship:
Cydnie O’Brien
Cydnie O’Brien hopes to become a leader in the field of forensic chemistry and help improve the justice system following her graduation from the University of Northern Colorado. The Erie High School senior has been active in student government, National Honor Society and choir.


At-Large Book Scholarship:
Sean Glaister
In addition to his academic success, Legacy High senior Sean Glaister has helped shape his school through developing and/or chairing multiple service organizations. Sean plans to pursue biomedical engineering at one of several prestigious universities he’s applied to.



Sorry, comments are closed for this post.

---------Facebook Pixel Code