Annual Meeting & Director Election

April 18, 2018

4:30 p.m. Registration, Dinner, Entertainment
6:30 p.m.
Meeting, Election Results, Prizes

Adams County Fairgrounds/Regional Park
9755 Henderson Road, Brighton, CO 80601

*Enter at the Exhibit Hall for Registration & Dinner


To be announced


To be announced

Director Election | Running for the Board | Notice of Nominations

Director Candidates | Meet the Candidate Forums | Candidate Video Statements

Balloting Deadlines | Ballot Packet | Voting Your Ballot | Election Results

Director Election

United Power’s members elect their board by secret ballot at the Annual Meeting of Members held each spring. United Power’s board members, elected at-large, serve three-year, staggered terms, and serve from specific geographic districts within the United Power service area. There are currently four director districts: West, East, South and Mountain. Your district appears in the top box on the right hand side of your bill.  View the director district map.

Unlike governmental elections, not all registered voters in the household can vote in the United Power elections. Members have one vote for each membership (account) with United Power. Only the person whose name is on the United Power account is eligible to vote. Members who are unclear of their membership or account status are urged to call United Power’s Member Services department at 303-637-1300 for verification.

Running for the Board of Directors

To be eligible to become or remain a director, a person must be a United Power member and receive electric service from United Power at the member’s primary residence in the district he or she represents. A director cannot be engaged in a competing enterprise or in other businesses involving a conflict of interest. United Power’s bylaws provide in-depth information on director districts, qualifications, terms, elections, meetings and officers.

Nominations by written petition must state the name and district of the nominee and must be signed by 15 or more United Power members. Petitions are available at United Power’s headquarters office in Brighton. Additional information may be obtained by calling United Power’s Executive Department at 303-659-0551. We ask any member interested in nomination to complete a biographical request form, available through the Executive Department.


Voting Your Ballot

Ballots for the annual director election will be mailed to all United Power members. Cast your ballot by return mail, place it in a drop box in any of our offices, or vote in person at the Annual Meeting. Ballot drop-boxes located in co-op offices will close at 2 p.m. on Annual Meeting day. A ballot drop-box located in the Exhibit Hall at the Adams County Fairgrounds will be open for pre-meeting voting from Noon – 4 p.m. on Annual Meeting day. Voting in person will begin at the Annual Meeting at 4:30 p.m. when registration opens.

It is important to note that United Power directors are elected on at ‘at-large’ basis, meaning that members should cast a vote for one director in each district, regardless of where the member lives. This election policy is in place because directors represent all members, as well as the overall welfare of the cooperative. Directors serve from geographic districts to ensure adequate accessibility for members and a representative cross-section of the membership on the board.

View detailed instructions on how to vote by mail.

Balloting Deadlines

2018 deadlines to be announced

2017 Election Results


James E. Vigesaa   5,065


Keith Alquist   2,209

David Rose   3,393


Virginia (Ginny) Buczek   5,102


Tamra Waltemath   5,093

Meet the Candidates

United Power will host four candidate forums for members who wish to hear from each candidate in person. All United Power members are welcome to attend the Meet the Candidates events held throughout the service territory. The following Meet the Candidate events are free and light refreshments are served. RSVPs are not required. Video statements from the candidates will be available online after the first forum. Additional Information about each of the candidates will be included in the March issue of the United Newsline, and in the ballot packet mailed to all members in late March.

Candidate forum dates and times to be announced.


---------Facebook Pixel Code